AutoZone vs Advance Auto Parts: Prices, Rewards and Services Compared

Prices checked Nov 2, 2026Updated Nov 2, 2026

PartsMatchup is reader-supported and independent of AutoZone, Advance Auto Parts and every other store we compare. Some store links may earn us a commission at no cost to you; it never changes which part or store we recommend. How we make money · How we compare

In the AutoZone vs Advance Auto Parts matchup, both stores sell many of the same brands, from Mobil 1 and Bosch to Sylvania and NGK, plus their own house brands: Duralast at AutoZone, and DieHard and Carquest at Advance. We priced 31 parts at AutoZone and 32 at Advance on the same day, matched by part number where both stores carry the same item and by tier where each sells its own brand, then compared the policies each store publishes.

Price comparison: the same parts, the same day

The table shows one or two representative parts from each category. Every category page has the full list, and the lower price is called out in the last column.

PartAutoZoneAdvance Auto PartsLower price
Group 48 (H6) battery, better tier$219.99Duralast Gold 48 / H6 battery H6-DLGWarranty: 3-year free replacement$219.99DieHard Gold H6 battery 48H6Warranty: 3-yearSame price
Group 48 (H6) AGM battery, best tier$264.99Duralast Platinum 48 / H6 AGM battery H6-AGMWarranty: 4-year free replacement$264.99DieHard Platinum AGM H6 battery H6-AGMWarranty: 4-yearSame price
Group 24F battery, better tier$219.99Duralast Gold 24F battery 24F-DLGWarranty: 3-year free replacement (Duralast Gold line)$244.99DieHard Gold 24F battery 24F-6Warranty: 3-yearAutoZoneby $25.00
Group 48 (H6) battery, budget tier$99.99Econocraft Group 48 / H6 battery H6-E$124.99DieHard Red 48H6 battery 48H6-0Warranty: 1-yearAutoZoneby $25.00
Front brake pads, ceramic, standard (D2076 fitment)$36.99Duralast Ceramic brake pads D2076$43.99Carquest Standard ceramic front brake pads NAD2076Warranty: Limited lifetimeAutoZoneby $7.00
Front brake pads, ceramic, premium (D2076 fitment)$64.99Duralast Gold Ceramic brake pads DG2076Warranty: Limited lifetime$74.99Carquest Professional Platinum ceramic front brake pads PXD2076HWarranty: Limited lifetimeAutoZoneby $10.00
Mobil 1 full synthetic 5W-30, 5 qt (128650)$45.99Mobil 1 Full Synthetic 5W-30, 5 qt (128650)$45.99Mobil 1 Advanced Clean Full Synthetic 5W-30, 5 qt (128650)Same price
Valvoline Advanced full synthetic 5W-30, 5 qt (881164)$41.99Valvoline Advanced Protection Full Synthetic 5W-30, 5 qt (881164)$42.99Valvoline Advanced Full Synthetic 5W-30, 5 qt (881164)AutoZoneby $1.00
Castrol GTX High Mileage 5W-30, 5 qt (15980E)$35.99Castrol GTX High Mileage Synthetic Blend 5W-30, 5 qt (15980E)$14.95 $29.99Castrol GTX High Mileage 5W-30 Synthetic Blend, 5 qt (15980E)Advance Auto Partsby $21.04
Store-brand premium oil filter (7317 size)$10.49STP Extended Life oil filter S7317XL$9.99Carquest Premium oil filter 84356Advance Auto Partsby $0.50
Bosch ICON beam wiper, 22 in (22A)$32.99Bosch ICON 22 in beam wiper 22A$32.99Bosch ICON ClearMax 365 22 in beam wiper 22AWarranty: 90-daySame price
Store-brand beam wiper, 22 in$22.99Duralast Flex 22 in beam wiper DLF22N$19.99Carquest XtraClear Premium Beam 22 in wiper XC22Warranty: 90-dayAdvance Auto Partsby $3.00
NGK Iridium IX spark plug BKR5EIX-11 (5464), each$14.99NGK Iridium IX spark plug 5464 (BKR5EIX-11)$14.99NGK Iridium IX spark plug BKR5EIX-11 (5464)Same price
Sylvania SilverStar Ultra H11 halogen bulb, 1 pack$33.99Sylvania SilverStar Ultra H11SU, 1 pack$33.99Sylvania H11 SilverStar Ultra, 1 packSame price

Prices checked on Nov 2, 2026 on each store's public website (store pickup prices for AutoZone at 4915 Belle Terre Parkway, Palm Coast, FL, and Advance Auto Parts at 904 N State St, Bunnell, FL 32110); store prices and availability vary by location. Prices are before tax and exclude any battery core charge or refundable deposit. Always confirm the final price and fit for your vehicle at checkout.

Where each store was cheaper

  • Identical brand-name parts were a tie. Mobil 1 5W-30, Bosch ICON 22-inch wipers, NGK Iridium IX and Autolite Iridium XP plugs, Sylvania H11 bulbs, the Mobil 1 M1-110A filter and Prestone DOT 3 brake fluid cost exactly the same at both stores. Valvoline and Pennzoil 5-quart jugs were $1 cheaper at AutoZone.
  • AutoZone won on brake pads. For the D2076 front pad size (listed for the 2018 Toyota Camry), Duralast pads were $7 to $11 cheaper than the matching Carquest and Advics tiers at Advance. See brake pad prices.
  • Advance won on store-brand wipers and filters. Carquest beam and conventional wipers and Carquest oil filters were $0.50 to $3 cheaper than the Duralast and STP equivalents.
  • Batteries mostly tied. Duralast Gold and DieHard Gold Group 48, 35 and 65 batteries were all $219.99, and the Group 48 AGM batteries were $264.99 at both stores with the same 760 CCA rating and 4-year free replacement. AutoZone was $25 cheaper on the Group 24F Gold, and its Econocraft budget battery was $25 under the DieHard Red. See Duralast vs DieHard.
  • Sales swung oil prices. Castrol GTX High Mileage was $14.95 on sale at Advance against $35.99 at AutoZone, while Castrol GTX and Valvoline Daily Protection blends were $20 on sale at AutoZone against $35.99 and $29.99 at Advance. These sales rotate, so check before you buy.

Store policies side by side

These are each store’s own published terms, checked on the same date. Programs vary by location and change, so follow the source links before you rely on a detail.

 AutoZoneAdvance Auto Parts
Return windowReturn an item in its original condition and packaging, with the receipt, within 90 days for a refund. Refunds may be denied if the item was used or installed; defective items are handled under the warranty. SourceReturn items as new (unopened, uninstalled, in original packaging) within 45 days with a receipt. Without a receipt you get a merchandise gift card at the item's lowest price in the last 45 days. Source
Loaner toolsLoan-A-Tool: almost 100 specialty tools. Leave a deposit equal to the tool's price, keep it up to 90 days and return it undamaged for a full refund. Tools can also be ordered online. SourceMore than 100 professional tools in 9 categories. Leave a deposit covering the tool's price, keep it up to 45 days and return it for a full refund. Source
Battery installationNot stated on official pages we checkedFree battery installation, and registration where needed, with purchase, for most vehicles at most locations. Source
Battery, starter and alternator testingFree testing of your alternator, starter, battery and more; AutoZone will also check a battery before you buy or charge a dead one. SourceFree battery, starter and alternator testing on or off the vehicle, plus automotive and marine battery charging. Source
Check engine light scanFree Fix Finder service: AutoZone checks your check engine light and gives you a free report. SourceFree engine code scanning on most OBD II vehicles at most stores. Source
Wiper installationNot stated on official pages we checkedFree front and rear wiper blade installation with purchase. Source
Pickup and deliveryFree store pickup at any US location; free next-day delivery in most markets on orders of $35 or more. AutoZone says it has more than 6,000 locations. SourceFree in-store or curbside pickup in 30 minutes for most in-stock items; home delivery in 3 hours in select markets. Source
Oil and battery recyclingBring used oil to the store, and get credits for used batteries. SourceFree used motor oil and transmission fluid recycling; bring an old car battery for up to a $10 Advance gift card. Source

From each store's official website, checked Nov 2, 2026. Programs and policies change and some services are not offered at every location or in every state; confirm with your local store.

The biggest practical gaps are the return and loan windows (90 days at AutoZone, 45 at Advance) and installation: Advance publishes free battery and wiper installation with purchase, while AutoZone’s services page does not mention installation.

Rewards: AutoZone Rewards vs Advance Rewards

The two programs reward different shopping habits. AutoZone Rewards gives you one credit for each purchase of $20 or more, and five credits earn a $20 Reward. If you make five separate $20 purchases, that is $20 back on $100, or 20%. If your five purchases average $100, it is $20 back on $500, or 4%. Small, frequent purchases get the most out of it.

Advance Rewards pays points on every dollar: 5 points per $1 at the free 1st Gear level, 8 points after $500 a year and 10 points after $1,000 a year, with 500 points worth a $5 Reward. That works out to 5%, 8% or 10% back no matter how big each purchase is. A single $400 brake job earns $20 at Advance’s first level, while at AutoZone it is one credit toward the next $20 Reward. At both stores, Rewards expire 90 days after they are issued.

Returns, warranties and loaner tools

AutoZone’s store return policy gives you 90 days with a receipt for items in original condition and packaging. Advance gives 45 days for items returned as new, and without a receipt it issues a merchandise gift card at the item’s lowest price in the last 45 days. House-brand battery warranties are the same length at both: 3 years free replacement for Duralast Gold and DieHard Gold, and 4 years for the Duralast Platinum and DieHard Platinum AGM batteries.

For loaner tools, AutoZone’s Loan-A-Tool offers almost 100 tools that you can keep for up to 90 days. Advance lists more than 100 tools in nine categories that you can keep for up to 45 days. Both take a deposit equal to the tool’s price and refund it in full when you bring the tool back. More detail is in our guide to free auto parts store services.

Strengths of each store

AutoZone

  • Cheaper Duralast brake pads at every tier we compared
  • 90-day returns with a receipt
  • Loan-A-Tool you can keep for 90 days
  • $20 Reward after five $20+ purchases
  • Free next-day delivery in most markets on orders of $35 or more

Advance Auto Parts

  • Free battery installation and registration with purchase on most vehicles
  • Free front and rear wiper installation with purchase
  • Cheaper Carquest wipers and oil filters
  • Points on every dollar, up to 10% back for big spenders
  • Free pickup in 30 minutes and 3-hour delivery in select markets

Neither list is a weakness of the other store; they are the reasons to pick one over the other for a given job. If you need a battery installed in the parking lot, Advance publishes that it does it free with purchase. If you are borrowing a ball joint press for a weekend project that might take longer, AutoZone’s 90-day loan window is the safer bet.

Current deals at both stores

When we checked, AutoZone was running a 20% off $100 ship-to-home code and free Duralast Gold pads with two rotors, while Advance had a 15% to 20% online code that excludes oil and batteries, and free Carquest pads with two Carquest rotors. The full, dated lists are on our AutoZone coupons and Advance Auto Parts coupons pages.

Shop AutoZoneShop Advance Auto PartsConfirm fit and the final price for your vehicle and store.

Keep comparing

Frequently asked questions

Is AutoZone or Advance Auto Parts cheaper?

In our November 2, 2026 check, neither store was cheaper across the board. Identical brand-name parts were usually the same price or within $1. AutoZone was cheaper on Duralast brake pads; Advance was cheaper on Carquest wipers and oil filters. Sales made the biggest differences, so compare on the day you buy.

Do AutoZone and Advance Auto Parts install batteries for free?

Advance Auto Parts’ store services page lists free battery installation, and registration where needed, with purchase for most vehicles at most locations. AutoZone’s store services page lists free battery testing and charging; it did not state free installation on the pages we checked, so ask your local AutoZone.

Which store has the better return policy?

AutoZone: 90 days with a receipt, versus 45 days at Advance Auto Parts. Both require the item in its original condition, and installed or used parts may be refused.

Is Duralast or DieHard better?

On published specs they are very close. The Group 48 AGM batteries we compared had the same 760 CCA, 120-minute reserve capacity, 4-year free replacement and $264.99 price. Read Duralast vs DieHard for every tier.

How long can I keep a loaner tool?

Up to 90 days at AutoZone and up to 45 days at Advance Auto Parts, according to each store’s loaner tool page. Both refund your deposit when you return the tool.

Sources

  1. AutoZone free services
  2. AutoZone Loan-A-Tool
  3. AutoZone Rewards
  4. AutoZone return policy
  5. Advance Auto Parts free store services
  6. Advance Rewards
  7. Advance Auto Parts return policy

PartsMatchup Editorial Team

We compare auto parts on published specs, warranty terms and dated store prices, and we link every store policy to its official page. We do not run a lab, so we never claim hands-on tests we did not do. About us · How we compare · Editorial policy